How to open solution in source repository?

Aug 16, 2013 at 2:01 AM
Hey guys. I'm not entirely sure how to open the solution found in the source code repo. I read in one of the threads here that it was supposed to be ported to Visual Studio 2012; I wasn't sure if that meant they were going to port the code/functionality into the Visual Studio 2012 shell, or if they were going to migrate the solution/projects into a VS2012 environment.

Either way, I've already tried opening the solution in both VS2010 and VS2012, both are ultimate editions. Both of them give some kind of failure message about how the solution wasn't made with this version of Visual Studio and none of the projects build. Everything gets imported with errors.

I'm not good with Visual Studio specific problems, especially for an undocumented project. If anyone could give me a nudge in the right direction, I'd really appreciate it.

I think RealScript IDE is pretty awesome and I'd like to continue development on it. I've actually never done any real UnrealEngine3/UDK dev work, but I really want to get into it. I'm the type of person that really loves using an IDE and this one, in my opinion, has the most potential.

Aug 16, 2013 at 4:50 PM
VS2010 reports that it can't open any of the solutions because they were made in a newer version of Visual Studio. So opening it in VS2012, I get these errors:

Error ShellExtensionsVSIX UDKDevKitVSXShell\ShellExtensionsVSIX\ShellExtensionsVSIX.csproj 1 0 0
Error UDKDevKitVSXShell.MainPackage UDKDevKitVSXShell\UDKDevKitVSXShell.MainPackage\UDKDevKitVSXShell.MainPackage.csproj 1 0 0
Error UDKDevKitVSXShellSetup UDKDevKitVSXSetupShell\UDKDevKitVSXSetupShell.vdproj 1 0 0

Can someone help me get a working code base? :(
Aug 18, 2013 at 3:05 AM
I'm pretty sure this project is dead, but I figured I'd post my findings here, in case anyone else runs into the same issues.